Latest news

Animal Welfare

Animal Welfare Education is a process that promotes understanding of the need for compassion towards people, animals, and the environment. It is aimed at equipping learners with knowledge, skills, values, and positive attitudes towards animals to promote harmonious co-existence of people and animals. This will help to maximise the benefits  humans and the environment get from animals. This is  promoted by:

Diploma Programs

The diploma courses are categorised into two broad categories of National Diploma and Higher Diploma. Both National Diploma and Higher Diploma Courses are offered for a duration of 2 years. However the National diploma programmes provide the basic knowledge and skills whereas higher diploma programmes are a head up as regards to education.  They provide an indepth training with broader and intensive coverage equivalent to that of an associate degree.

Certificate Courses

The certificate courses are modularised and aimed at opening up avenues for citizens to be skilled in particular specialised areas of one’s interest. These certificate courses are categorised into three as follows:

  1. National Certificates
  2. National Junior Vocational Certificates
  3. Competency National Certificates


National Certificates

BTVET Curriculum

The aim of Business Technical Vocational Education and Training (BTVET) department is to develop and review curricula for tertiary institutions. We develop curricula which is competence based to address the government policy of Skilling Uganda, which is aimed at shifting from the traditional academic teaching to skills development.

O Level Curriculum

Ordinary level is one of the the formal education options for learners who have completed primary education.

Learners join Senior One having successfully passed the Primary Leaving Examinations and embark on a 4-year cycle covering the Lower Secondary or O level (Senior 1 - Senior 4).

Subjects Taught at O level and their Status across the Country


Subject Name

Upper Primary Curriclum

The Upper Primary Curriculum (P5 – P7) is subject-based like the Transitional Curriculum. The subjects remain the same from P4 to P7. The curriculum at Upper Primary (P5-P7) is spiral in design, based on identifiable and transferable skills and competences which are specified for each subject. The focus is to keep the content appropriate to the level. 

Lower Primary / Thematic Curriculum

This is the curriculum used for P1-P3 classes. It is called Thematic Curriculum because its content is arranged around themes that are familiar to the learners. The recommended medium of instruction is Local Language for the learners whose first language is not English. English, however, is taught in English, and as a strand right from Primary One.

Thematic Curriculum is hinged on five pillars namely: