Latest news

Lower Secondary Curriculum Reform

The Ministry of Education and Sports (MoES) in 2008, took a decision to undertake a thorough reform of the Lower Secondary Education Curriculum. The Lower Secondary Curriculum, 

Assessment and Examination Reform Programme (CURASSE) aims at shifting from an old tried and trusted model of Secondary Education to a broader and more inclusive curriculum that can satisfy needs of different abilities.

Integration of Sexuality Education in the Lower Secondary Curriculum

The project is funded by UNFPA and intends to mainstream Sexuality Education in the Lower Secondary Curriculum. Issues integrated include: body changes during adolescence, Sexual maturation, agreeable behaviour, drug and substance abuse, relationships, refusal skills to unwanted sexual advances, facts about HIV and STIs, sexual abuse, teenage pregnancy and how to deal with it.

Learners will benefit from the project by:

Animal Welfare

Animal Welfare Education is a process that promotes understanding of the need for compassion towards people, animals, and the environment. It is aimed at equipping learners with knowledge, skills, values, and positive attitudes towards animals to promote harmonious co-existence of people and animals. This will help to maximise the benefits  humans and the environment get from animals. This is  promoted by:

Diploma Programs

The diploma courses are categorised into two broad categories of National Diploma and Higher Diploma. Both National Diploma and Higher Diploma Courses are offered for a duration of 2 years. However the National diploma programmes provide the basic knowledge and skills whereas higher diploma programmes are a head up as regards to education.  They provide an indepth training with broader and intensive coverage equivalent to that of an associate degree.

Certificate Courses

The certificate courses are modularised and aimed at opening up avenues for citizens to be skilled in particular specialised areas of one’s interest. These certificate courses are categorised into three as follows:

  1. National Certificates
  2. National Junior Vocational Certificates
  3. Competency National Certificates


National Certificates

BTVET Curriculum

The aim of Business Technical Vocational Education and Training (BTVET) department is to develop and review curricula for tertiary institutions. We develop curricula which is competence based to address the government policy of Skilling Uganda, which is aimed at shifting from the traditional academic teaching to skills development.